Arkville Fire Department elects 2008 officers; activity report shows 67 calls

The Arkville Fire Department recently held its election of officers for 2008.
Robert Sweeney was reelected fire chief; Noel Amundsen, first assistant chief; Tom Roberts, second assistant chief; Ashton Sanford, captain; Israel Rivera, lieutenant; Claude Pitt, fire police chief; Andy Straut, safety officer and Connie Spielman, infection control officer.
Kyle Holden was again elected to serve as president. Frank Andreisson is vice president; JR Lawrence, treasurer and Charlene Bode, secretary.
Elected to the board of directors were: George Griffin, Noel Amundsen, Tom Roberts and Andy Straut.
The yearly report reviewed the calls responded to by the department during 2007. There were: 18 medical emergencies; six calls involved mutual aid to the scene; six public service calls; 10 hazardous conditions calls; four automatic alarms; one smoke investigation; three structure fires; four motor vehicle accidents; six mutual aid standbys; one rescue call; one refuse fire; three calls for downed wires; one brush fire and three carbon monoxide calls.