Races shaping up for Town Elections


By Brian Sweeney
A number of races are shaping up in town elections this fall, according to petition filings made last week with the Delaware County Board of Elections.

A breakdown of races by township shows the following filings made for party status by the July 13
deadline. Although some candidates have already filed their petitions to have their name appear on the Independent line on the ballot, the deadline for filing those petitions is August 20.

Longtime Supervisor Martin Donnelly, Republican, has filed a petition seeking another two-year term.

Three candidates — Dale Cole, Samuel Fundaro and Thomas Joyce — have filed petitions to run on the Democratic line for the town board. There will be a primary in September with the top two vote recipients appearing on the party line on the ballot.

Incumbents Daniel Grommeck and Martin Liddle filed petitions to run on the Republican line for the Andes Town Board. Both candidates have also filed petitions to have their names appear on the Independent line.

The top two vote tallies will earn seats on the Andes Town Board.
Veteran Town Justice Joseph Grieco will face a primary challenge from GOP hopeful Nicholas Burton, as both filed petitions to run on the Republican line. Both will also appear on the Independent line.

Tax assessor Tina Moshier will be running for re-election on the GOP and Independent lines. Democrat Joseph Steketee Sr. will challenge her.
Incumbent Superintendent of Highways Michael McAdams will again be running unopposed as member of the Republican Party.

Incumbent Supervisor Tina Mole is seeking re-election and has filed petitions to appear on the Republican and Independent lines.

Evelyn Steward, a Democrat, will be seeking re-election to a town board position. And former board member Kenneth Brown will be running on the Republican line. He will be seeking the seat vacated by veteran board member Charles McIntosh, who chose not to run again.
Incumbent Republican Catherine Hewitt will run without opposition for another term as town clerk/tax collector.

Democrat Ed Weber, incumbent superintendent of highways, will face opposition from Republican Brian McIntosh.

Incumbent first-term Supervisor Marge Miller has filed a petition to run as a Democrat and will be challenged in a primary by Nelson Delameter. Regardless of the primary result, Mr. Delameter will also have his name on the Republican line.

In the race for two seats on the town board, Democrat Michael Finberg and Republican Jake Rosa will be seeking re-election. George Brown will be seeking a seat on the town board running as a Republican.

David Goodchild Jr., who was appointed fill an unexpired assessor’s position last year, will be running to fill the remainder of the term. He will be running on the Democratic line.
John Fairbairn III is running as a Democrat for a town justice position. He is seeking to fill seat of longtime justice Glen George who is not seeking another term.

Longtime Democratic Supervisor Tom Hynes is running for another two-year term.
Incumbent Republican board members Gene Cronk and Allen Hinkley are both seeking re-election. Challenging for one of the seats is Democratic candidate Melony Lee.

Democrats Joan Moore and Wayne Pebler are both running for re-election as tax collector and town justice, respectively.