Prizes plentiful for RCS seniors


Roxbury Central School’s graduates were awarded $188,000 in prizes and scholarships during the graduation ceremony Saturday morning at school. Among those receiving awards and scholarships were:

The American Society of Civil Engineers/Mohawk-Hudson Section, Spencer Hinkley, $1,000 per year for four years; The Bishop Scholarship Foundation Award, Bailey O’Donnell and Jennifer Wallace, $17,500 each for four years; Gregg Bookhout Memorial Music Award; Kathren Fairbairn, $100; Todd Brainerd Memorial Art Scholarship, Kendal Sprague, $600; Chen-Del-O Federal Credit Union Scholarship Award, Kennedy Faraci, $500; The Class of 2008 Graduation Award, Marissa Greene, $50; The Cronk Family Award, Kennedy Faraci, $100, and the Jim Cuttita Agency Award, Marissa Greene, $250.

Also, The Delaware County ARC Scholarship, Kathren Fairbairn, $50; The Delaware National Bank of Delhi Corporate Charitable Trust, Jennifer Wallace, $200; The Delta Kappa Gamma/Beta Omicron Chapter Scholarship, Samantha Sprague, $500; Dollars for Scholars, Bailey O’Donnell, Kendal Sprague, Samantha Sprague, Kennedy Faraci, Spencer Hinkley, Marissa Greene, and Jennifer Hinkley, $950 each; Earl B. Dudley American Legion Award of Merit, Kennedy Faraci, $100, and the Earl B. Dudley Unit 686 American Legion Auxiliary Award, Kendal Sprague, $100.
Also, John and Jean Dugan Scholarship Award, Tyler Faulkner, $200; The Dora Fowler Award, Jennifer Wallace, $50; George’s Gun Shop, Jonathan Blunt, $50; Roxbury Senior Citizens Home Ec Award, Jonathan Blunt, $50; Grand Gorge Fire Department and Rescue Squad Award; Miranda Cross, $200; Greatest Effort in Fitness through Physical Education Class, Dakota Caronia and Cristina Chiarappa, $25 each; The Walter D. Griffin, Sr. Scholarship, Samantha Sprague, $1,000, and the Halcottsville Fire Dept. Award, Miranda Cross, $50.

Other winners
Also, Beatrice Hinman Hinkley Award, Kennedy Faraci, $100; Ralph Ives American Legion Award of Merit, Kendal Sprague, $100; Kirkside Award, Brandon Beauvais, $50; Marjorie Webster Lutz Award, Kathren Fairbairn, $100; The Michelle MacNaught Memorial Award, Kendal Sprague, $300; Morse-Wilson Award, Rachel Beck, $100; Henry and Margaret Munsell Memorial Award, Bailey O’Donnell, $100, and the The National Bank of Delaware County Award, Samantha Sprague, $100.
Also, The Mom McGrail Scholarship, Katie Cronk and Kennedy Faraci, $1,000 each; The Monique Gabrielle Ostrow Award, Samantha Sprague, $50; PTSA Scholarships, Jennifer Wallace, Samantha Sprague, Kendal Sprague, Bailey O’Donnell, Spencer Hinkley, and Kennedy Faraci, $500 each; Pine Hollow Lodging Service Award, Rachel Beck, $100; Lynn Cole Rivenburgh Award, Tyler Faulkner, $25, and the The RCS-Perazone Scholarships, Kennedy Faraci, $600 and Kendal Sprague, $300.
Also, Roxbury Alumni Association Award, Samantha Sprague, $400; The Roxbury Fire Department Award, Bailey O’Donnell, $250; Roxbury Rotary Scholarship, Samantha Sprague, $500; Roxbury Teachers Association Educational Grants, Bailey O’Donnell, and Kennedy Faraci, $500 each and Samantha Sprague, Katie Cronk, Marissa Greene, Spencer Hinkley, Jennifer Wallace and Derek Cowan, $300 each, and The Sacred Heart Knights of Columbus Council #13222 Award, Bailey O’Donnell, $200.

Also, the Scholarship for Academic Excellence, Bailey O’Donnell, $1,500 per year for four years and, Kathren Fairbairn, $500 per year for four years; Science Olympiad Awards, Jennifer Wallace, $117 and Katherina Dee, Kathren Fairbairn, Miranda Cross, Bailey O’Donnell, Kennedy Faraci, and Rachel Beck, awards of less than $100 which were not disclosed; The Ulster and Delaware Railroad Historical Society Scholarship, Marissa Greene, $400; Mary Alice Van Wiedemann Awards, Nicholas Hamil and Kathren Fairbairn, $25 each; Linda Gregory Wagner Memorial Music Award, Kennedy Faraci, $100; The Ruth Ann Brainard Memorial Award, Miranda Cross, $25; Clark Foundation Scholarships, Bailey O’Donnell and Jennifer Wallace, between $2,000 and $3,000 each; Culinary Institute of America Scholarship, Rachel Beck, $1,000; James L. Knak Engineering Memorial Scholarships, Kennedy Faraci and Spencer Hinkley, $4,000 each and The GRLIC Award, Derek Cowan, an iPad.