Margaretville student-athletes, coach honored at year-end sports banquet

Margaretville Central School held its 16th annual athletic awards banquet on Monday to honor the achievements of MCS student-athletes. In addition to recognizing all the Blue Devils’ team accomplishments, individual honors were bestowed in the form of the Henry Dietrich Awards, the Nate Dougherty Memorial Awards and the Most Outstanding Athlete Awards. In addition, the MCS athletic department presented the Distinguished Coaching Award to veteran baseball coach Rick Funck.
The Henry Dietrich Award is named in honor of one of Margaretville’s longtime athletic supporters. A good athlete in his own rite, Henry played multiple sports at MCS and later drove athletic teams to competitions. The award named in his honor is given to the student-athletes who best understand their roles on the team, have a positive attitude, display determination, and show great sportsmanship.
The 2008-2009 Henry Dietrich Award recipients were senior Jon Lee and sophomore Olivia Todd.
The Nate Dougherty Memorial Awards are given in remembrance of former MCS student-athlete Nate Dougherty. Dougherty demonstrated a love of soccer, and the award is presented to student-athletes who share the same passion for and commitment to the game. A family in Halcottsville sponsors the Nate Dougherty Memorial Award. The honorees named at Monday’s banquet were seniors Casey Hubbell and Chris Costa.
The Most Outstanding Athlete Awards were awarded to individuals who not only had exceptional athletic careers, but who boasted strong academic records as well.
This year’s recipients were seniors Guy Nobile and Brandi Balcom.
Also honored were the 2008-09 recipients of the Delaware League Scholar-Athlete awards. The awards are presented to the male and female student-athletes who maintain the highest grade point average during each sports season. The recipients of this year’s Delaware League Scholar-Athlete awards were: fall, Olivia Todd and Greg Lehn; winter, Kory Ancona, Jon Lee and Patrick O’Connell; and spring, Kaitlin Buergue, Olivia Todd and Garrett Fairbairn.