Margaretville Rotary held 75th anniversary celebration

By Cathy Hinkley
The Rotary Club of Margaretville celebrated its 75th anniversary with a dinner meeting for 75 members and guests at Hanah Mountain Resort & Country Club on Wednesday night.

Guest speakers included Rotary District 7170 Governor, Dale Flinn from Ithaca and Rotary Exchange Student from Hamburg, Germany, Sophie Nellies visiting from the Rotary Club of Delhi.
The theme for the evening focused on the goodwill and better friendships fostered by the Rotary International program of student exchange.

Members from neighboring Rotary clubs of Roxbury, Fleischmanns/Pine Hill, and Delhi, as well as other friends of Rotary, joined in attendance with Margaretville members, past and present.
Music for the evening, which included several spirited patriotic and Rotary inspired songs, was provided by vocalist, Patricia Dell and Kent Brown on the piano.

Oldest member, Willis Marks, shared highlights from his 58 years in the Rotary Club.
He noted one of the positive and important changes in Rotary over the years was the inclusion of women into membership in 1989.

Joining the club
A new member, Stuart Slutzman, was inducted into the Margaretville club by the district governor.
The present 22 members are Anthony Albanese, Barbara Atkin, John Barnet, Sandra Barnet, Charles DiGiacomo, Lawrence Dunlap, Carol Jean Finch, Beverly Hamway, Louis Hamway, Cathy Hinkley, Douglas Hinkley, Jacqueline Keller, Walter Keller, Agnes Laub, JR Lawrence, George Levy, Gary Marks, Willis Marks, Stuart Slutzman, Sally Ann Van Benschoten, Eric Van Benschoten, and Sally Van Benschoten.

The Margaretville Club was organized on April 5, 1938 and admitted on August 19, 1938.
Weekly meetings were originally held at the Elm Tree House (which later housed Oby’s Antiques) on Main Street in Margaretville.

The 1938 charter members and officers were William Kavanaugh, president; VanWert Ellis, vice president; Myron Wiltsie, secretary; Dietrich Cordes, treasurer; Ralph Sanford, sargent-at-arms; Harry Miller, director, Clarke Sanford, director, Dr. Clarence Holcomb, director, Roswell Sanford, Joe Essel, Nathaniel Lattin, Demas Mead, Merle Randle, Harold Finch, and Elton Shaver.
The Margaretville Rotary Club now meets weekly on Wednesday evenings at 6:10 at Hanah Mountain Resort and Country Club. Interested individuals are invited to attend.