Local school budgets pass with RCS building plan approved and Warner elected to MCS board

By Joe Moskowitz
Voters in three area school districts overwhelmingly approved 2014-15 school-year budgets last Tuesday.
One of the schools is also buying a bus, another is going to repair a 75-year-old building, and a third continues to turn over members of its board of education.

Voters in the Andes Central School District approved a new spending plan by a 78-19 margin. The budget calls for a tax levy hike of .71 percent. Andes Superintendent Dr. Robert Chakar would like to have asked for more, but the so-called two-percent property tax cap formula wouldn’t allow the district to raise taxes by more than .71 percent without approval of 60 percent of the voters, And if that were to occur, Andes residents would not be eligible for property tax rebates.

Andes voting
Andes voters also approved the purchase of a 22-passenger bus. That vote was 81-15. They also elected Dale Tait and Gordon Krick to the board of education.
Voters in the Roxbury School District voted 206-109 in favor of a budget with a .90 percent increase in the tax levy. They also voted 192 to 129 to bond a $4 million project to repair and upgrade the older portion of the building, which was constructed in1939. The bond will be paid for over a 15-year period. And to help pay the bills, voters said yes to allowing the district to dip into its reserve funds. That vote was 225-97. Ed Dalski, running unopposed, was elected to a full five-year term as a board member.
Margaretville Central School District voters approved a new budget which calls for a 2.49 percent tax levy increase. Because of the state formula, the new budget is still below the tax cap. The vote was 177-70.
But, for the second time in as many years, an incumbent board of education member lost a bid for re-election. In fact, the last three board members who were opposed have lost their seats and there has been a different member voted to the board every year since 2008.

Warner wins
This year, Doris Warner was elected to a three-year term, unseating Kurt Holcherr by a 167-102 margin.
Last year incumbent, incumbent Board President Randy Moore was defeated by Arkville resident Terry Johnson. In 2010, Al Tanzer lost his seat to Agnes Laub. None of the votes have been close.
Warner, who said she is looking forward to the challenge of serving on the board, said that the reason for the lack of stability on the board is because of a lack of communication between the board, the administration, and the community.
MCS Superintendent Tony Albanese, writing on the MCS website, thanked the community for its continued support of the school.