Few Delaware races for November elections

By Brian Sweeney
All supervisors in local townships will be running for re-election without opposition in November balloting unless Independent candidates emerge.
The deadline for filing party-affiliated petitions with the Delaware County Board Elections was July 17. Candidates running on an Independent line have until August 18 to file petitions to have their names placed on the ballot.
Town races in the November 3 election will be few in the News coverage area.

Republican Supervisor Len Utter, who has served for 10 years, is seeking another two-year term and is running unopposed.
Two seats on the town board will up for election. Republican Don Kearney, a two-term board member has indicated that he will not seek re-election and did not file a petition.
Running for the board on the GOP line will be Arkville resident Jacob Rosa, a political newcomer.
Incumbent Democrat Michael Finberg will be seeking re-election. He has served on the board 12 years. Also running on the Democratic line will be Margaretville resident John Bernhardt, who retired in July from his position as superintendent of Andes Central School.
The top two vote-getters will win election in the three-person race. Town board positions are for four years.
Middletown Justice Glen George, a Republican, will be running without opposition for another four-year term.

Longtime GOP Supervisor Martin Donnelly will not face opposition as he seeks another two-year term.
Other incumbent Andes Republicans running without opposition will be: Town Justice Joseph Grieco, Board members Martin Liddle and Daniel Grommeck and Superintendent of Highways Michael McAdams.

Republican Supervisor Tina Mole will seek another two-year term and will not face opposition.
Two incumbent town board members, Democrat Evelyn Stewart and Democrat and Independence Party member Charles McIntosh will run for re-election without opponents.
Republican Robert Burgin, the incumbent superintendent of highways, will be challenged by Democrat Edward Weber.
Catherine Hewitt, a Republican, will run unopposed for another term as tax collector.

Thomas Hynes, a Democrat, will be seeking another two-year term as supervisor.
Incumbent Republicans Allen Hinkley and Gene Cronk will not have opposition as they seek new four-year terms.
Stephen Schuman, a Democrat, will face a challenge for the superintendent of highways post from Republican Ken Kessel.
Two incumbent Democrats, Town Clerk Diane Pickett and Tax Collector Joan Moore will be running unopposed for additional four-year terms.
In the only countywide race, incumbent Beverly Shields, a Republican, will be seeking another term and will not face opposition.