CCCD honors Dennis Lucas Sr. at annual meeting in Arkville

Arkville — The Catskill Center for Conservation and Development (CCCD) honored Dennis Lucas, Sr. with the Alf Evers Award for Excellence at their 41st annual membership meeting on Saturday, July 17. Dennis received the award for his outstanding leadership and commitment to community development in the Catskill Region.
As Town of Hunter Supervisor, Lucas is working towards designation of the Mountain Cloves Scenic Byway. Dennis is the Chairman of the Coalition of Watershed Towns and has been a member of the Coalition since 1998. He is also on the Board of Directors of the Greene Land Trust.
CCCD Executive Director Alan White called Dennis’ contributions to both the economic development of the region and the protection of the region’s natural resources “A game-changer.” Alan states that: “Dennis has been able to bridge the gap between opposing sides and bring about real change. Whether it’s working on issues pertaining to the New York City Watershed, development projects, or community revitalization programs, Dennis has made positive, significant contributions.” Alan emphasized: “Dennis’ ability to use humor and common sense is a key factor in reaching common ground during many of the meetings he attends.”
Over 75 people attended the meeting where five candidates were voted onto the board of directors. Giacomo Barbieri, Susan Clark, Laura Hussey, Jan Jaffe and Patricia Rudge have all joined the board.
H. Claude Shostal, Sybil R. Golden, and Sue Erpf Van de Bovenkamp were re-elected to the board of directors as well.
The theme of this year’s Annual Meeting was Scenic Byways. Al Wegener, organizer of the Shawangunk Mountains Scenic Byway, gave a presentation on his experiences with the Scenic Byway project and how this designation can be a tool for tourism development in the Catskills. The Catskill Center is working toward Scenic Byway designation for Route 28 as well as the Mountain Cloves Scenic Byway.