Candidates unopposed in Fleischmanns balloting

By Jay Braman Jr.
Unless there’s a last-minute write-in campaign, as has happened in Fleischmanns in the recent past, this year’s election features just three seated Village trustees all running unopposed.
All three seek two-year terms in March 19 balloting.

The deadline for filing an intent to run for village office came and went last Wednesday with only Mayor Todd Pascarella and Trustees Ben Fenton and David Yates submitting the proper paperwork to get a spot on the ballot voters will see on Election Day.

Pascarella was appointed mayor in early 2012 after seated mayor Dave Morell resigned. With
Morell’s unexpired term coming to an end next month, Pascarella must now be elected by majority vote to continue in that role.

Same holds true for Yates, who was appointed last November to serve out the unexpired term of Fred Woller, a longtime trustee who resigned that same month. Woller’s term ends next month.
When he appointed Yates, Pascarella was grateful for his volunteerism. Yates quickly established himself as a vocal supporter of the restoration of the Bridge Street Bridge, whose fate is in the hands of the Delaware County Department of Public Works.

Last year’s elections in Fleischmanns were supposed to be of the unopposed variety, but the week before Election Day, two write-in candidates emerged to challenge as many seated trustees.
Woller and Trustee Harriet Grossman were on the ballot, but then residents Larry Reilly and Martin Morales emerged as write-in candidates.

The incumbents kept their respective seats, but their challengers both got their fair share of votes.