10th annual Tunament raised scholarship funds

The 10th annual Tunament was held Friday, July 30 at Shephard Hills Golf Course in Roxbury.

The winning foursome with a combined score of 61 included Zac Clark, Chan Squires, Dave Hull and Joe Siclare.

The second-place team, which posted a 63, included Mike Hynes, Bryan Ciaravino, John Hamil and Greg Funck.

Finishing third with a 64 total was the team comprised of Dean Hunter, Duane Ely, Dennis Ely and Tom Rieder.

The Tunament was established in memory of Margaretville native Bill “Tuna” Sanford who passed away suddenly 10 years ago. Bill was an avid golfer and a strong supporter of high school athletics and his friends established the Tunament Golf Tournament as a way to honor his memory and support local students.Mitch VankeurenMitch Vankeuren

The Tunament Scholarship at Margaretville Central School is awarded at graduation to a senior who exemplifies Bill’s community spirit. This year, the $1,000 prize was awarded to Mitch Vankeuren of Arkville.